Uaprn waterfall header 2017 logo update
Uaprn logo
United Advanced Practice Registered Nurses of Georgia

Celebrate the Week!!!

Posted about 3 years ago by James F. Lawrence

National Nurse Practitioner Week is November 9-15, 2015

There are four types of Advanced Practice registered Nurses (APRN). APRNs have Masters and Doctoral degrees and national certification to practice. 

Nurse Practitioner (NP) - manage and provide primary and acute care, diagnose illness, prescribe tests and medications, promote health and wellness. They must pass a rigorous National Certification Exam. The Institute of Medicine (IOM) researched the quality of nurse practitioners and found that they have equal safety and quality outcomes as physicians. The IOM recommends that nurse practitioners be able to practice independently with full prescriptive ability.

Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM) - manage and provide obstetrical and gynecological care, deliver babies and provide well woman primary care.

Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) - manage and provide anesthesia care and pain management services.

Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS) - provide clinical expertise to effect system-wide changes to improve health care programs and improve outcomes of individual patients.

UAPRN Georgia welcomes all advanced practiced registered nurses to its organization!

James F. Lawrence, Ph.D. APRN BC CHPN CPS FAANP

State UAPRN President