United Advanced Practice Registered Nurses of Georgia


Posted over 5 years ago by James F. Lawrence

As your state president, I wanted to take this opportunity during the annual AANP conference to recognize some extremely important individuals who have made my job as state president much easier.

Dr. Boni Cohen ends her office as Georgia's state representative from AANP at the close of the conference on Sunday. I met Boni for the very first time at the regional leadership conference that AANP had invited us to attend. It was very early for both of us in our new positions and we shared our angst in the unknown and what laid ahead. Since that first encounter, each time I am with Boni, I am more and more impressed. In the race for over achiever, I often feel like the turtle as she speeds pass me in her rabbit-like motions. How she juggles so much and executes it with style and grace is a true talent and a mark to her wonderful personality and reflects her deep commitment to nursing and the healthcare of all Georgians.

These are just a few reasons she received our very first state award last year for Excellence in Leadership during our state conference. I would like to personally thank her for all she has done in her role as Georgia state representative and I look forward to continually working with her in UAPRN. 

Also at this year's conference, Mr. Andrew Keller from ENP, is receiving the NP Advocate award from Florida. If I had to name one individual who has impacted UAPRN and made my position less stressful as I have tried to carry out the measures of transforming our organization into a more professional and effective group, it is he. His collaboration has been invaluable to me and we should all be very grateful to him. I can think of no other more deserving of this award and I also look forward to continually working with him in seeking new and improved ways of improving our organization. 

My sincerest gratitude and respect go out to both of you!

James F. Lawrence, Ph.D. APRN BC CHPN FAANP CPS

UAPRN State President